NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Targeting Sharks at Island Beach State Park - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Salt Water Fishing
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Salt Water Fishing Use this board to post all general salt water fishing information. Please use the appropriate boards below for all other information. General information about sailing times, charter availability and open boats trips can be found and should be posted in the open boat forum.

Old 06-25-2024, 06:47 PM
NJFishing.com Member

Default Targeting Sharks at Island Beach State Park

Heading to Island Beach State Park or the Jersey shore soon to target some sharks. The plan is the fish dawn and dusk and try to catch some bait fish in between.

This is my first time trying this I’m a fresh water guy. Need all the help I can get. My plan is to get a decent medium Penn rod or something medium/ decent size from dicks or Walmart. 50-80lb braid, a heavy mono, some steel leader, decent size circle hooks, and some 3-5 oz eights and set up some basic Carolina rigs with cut bait.

This is all information I’ve gained off my own internet research. I’ve done some charters in the past but everything is handed to you there. Any tips and tricks and advice anyone is willing to give is so greatly appreciated! Thanks everyone in advanced.
Old 06-25-2024, 11:57 PM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Default Re: Targeting Sharks at Island Beach State Park

I caught, tagged and released a blacktip on an Ava A-17 in Manasquan Inlet. Back in the olden days before Jaws, after my brother John beached a 6’ brown shark 🦈 in Manasquan at night, the police 👮*♀️ arrived, then shot it. Your leader should be longer than the shark. They break your line with their tail. Post pictures.
Attached Thumbnails