NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Inshore and offshore? - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Boating
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Boating Use this board to discuss anything related to boats and boating in NJ

Old 06-05-2024, 11:44 AM
NJFishing.com Member

Default Inshore and offshore?

Good morning! New guy here, looking forward to learning from you all! I did a little reading back and unless I missed something, I don’t see this topic too recently. I’m new to salt, I want a change of scenery and tired of fishing for fish that don’t taste good lol. Im not buying a boat till fall/winter ish probably, but trying to find a boat I can do the most with. For the record, I know there is no perfect do all boat, and especially with a limited budget. But I’m looking for something with a trolling motor up front that drafts shallow ish so I can fish in/nearshore for flounder/stripers/blues/etc and probably will do that type of fishing most. But when the water is pretty smooth and the fish are there, I’d love to be able to get out to mahi mahi and maybe even some tuna if that’s not too much to ask for? I understand I’d have major limitations, but that’s my hope for when conditions allow.

Looking at boats like the Carolina Skiff Ultra Elite series currently, but hoping to find some other recommendations to keep an eye out for as well. I’ll have around $30k available, and don’t want to take on a loan.

Thanks a ton in advance for your help and recommendations. Again, I promise I understand there needs to be some give and take and there will be big limitations. Just wanting to be able to go play when the stars align.