NJ Fishing Advertise Here at New Jersey's Number 1 Fishing Website!

Message Board

Trolling RV question - NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey

Message Board Registration       FAQ

Go Back   NJFishing.com Your Best Online Source for Fishing Information in New Jersey > NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing
FAQ Members List Calendar

NJFishing.com Fresh Water Fishing Post all your fresh water topics on this board

Old 10-01-2014, 08:10 PM
NJFishing.com Regular

Default Trolling RV question

I am pretty new to fishing Round Valley, had a quick question about trolling with planer boards.
How far out behind the boat do you put the lure? also how far from the boat should your planer board be when fishing in 10-20ft water?

thank you in advance for your suggestions
Old 10-01-2014, 10:05 PM
NJFishing.com Regular

Default Re: Trolling RV question

What kind of line are you using to troll with? (lead core, flat line, etc.). As for how far your planers are from the boat, there's not really any "perfect" amount. But if you're targeting Rainbow and Brown Trout, usually the farther away the better.
Round Valley Trout Association Member
Behre Bait & Tackle
Old 10-02-2014, 09:39 AM
NJFishing.com Regular

sorry i forgot to mention, yes i will be trolling with leadcore.
Old 10-02-2014, 09:46 AM
NJFishing.com Old Salt

Mast height determines how far u can comfortably deploy ur boards. Like was mentioned trout the further out the better especially in clear worked water.
depth ur fishing is simply regulated by trolling line or method being used.
to br successfull u have to manage this depth with fairly accurate lure positioing in strike zones especially this time of yesr when Lk turnover can occur.
Winter / spring u can high line ur lures or fish at moderate depths prior to thermo forming , once this happens its good to know which temp range appeals to fis ur after. Valley is fully oxygenated so temps become important to overall consisitent catches.